MLFF stages of training

Question on input files/tags, interpreting output, etc.

Please check whether the answer to your question is given in the VASP online manual or has been discussed in this forum previously!

Moderators: Global Moderator, Moderator

dylan_durkee

MLFF stages of training

#1 Post by dylan_durkee » Mon Apr 24, 2023 3:26 pm

Hello,

I have questions about MLFF training in VASP which I am just beginning to try and use. I read on the MLFF VASP wiki that one can train complex systems in stages - I believe the example given was one in which a surface material was trained, and then a molecule was trained, and lastly the system including the surface and molecule as a whole was trained.

I want to look at a system which contains a molecular liquid with two different element types, and introduce a third element to the liquid in random positions throughout the liquid.

Should I do the MLFF training for such a system in stages, where I train the two-element molecular liquid first, and then introduce the third element into training ? If I do it like this, then can I use the ML_ABN file from the first round of training once I've updated the POSCAR and POTCAR files to include the third element?

Thanks for any help!

-Dylan

ferenc_karsai
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Re: MLFF stages of training

#2 Post by ferenc_karsai » Tue Apr 25, 2023 9:59 pm

Yes, exactly as you wrote.

dylan_durkee

#3 Post by dylan_durkee » Fri May 05, 2023 7:54 pm

Hello Ferenc,

I have a followup on my original post. The system I am looking at is liquid CO2 at 4000K with Re atoms randomly placed in the liquid.