A question on potcars PBE/GGA and vasp

Question on input files/tags, interpreting output, etc.

Please check whether the answer to your question is given in the VASP online manual or has been discussed in this forum previously!

Moderators: Global Moderator, Moderator

azade_yazdan

A question on potcars PBE/GGA and vasp

#1 Post by azade_yazdan » Wed Jan 20, 2021 9:26 am

Dear VASP communcity,

I am very new to VASP and a bit confused about the naming used for potcar files. Please forgive me if my questions are too simple, but your comments would help me.

- PBE is in the GGA functional class; so why we have a potcar_PBE and potcar_GGA class? what is the difference here?

- In a few papers, I saw that they mention ‘The exchange correlation effect was described within the generalized gradient approximation (GGA) in the Perdew-Burke-Ernzerh (PBE).’ If I want to use similar settings should I use the potcar_PBE files?

- And a more general question on vasp and cp2k. I used to believe that I can use one or the other. But I saw in a few papers that they have used both. May I ask why? What is it that we can do with one of the packages but not the other?

For example:
Mater. Res. Express 7 (2020) 065603 - https://doi.org/10.1088/2053-1591/ab98cd